Press Kit

Author Bio

 

JILLIAN BOEHME grew up in Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, a town with a name bigger than itself. In 1987, she graduated magna cum laude from Susquehanna University with a degree in Music Education. During her college years, she sang with the University Choir and the University Chamber Singers and held the position of accompanist for both the University Choir and the Susquehanna Valley Chorale.

 

Jillian worked as both an administrative secretary and an elementary music teacher prior to staying home full time to raise her children. She was involved in leadership roles during the early days of online chat and honed her writing skills by penning articles for a pay-per-click web site. In 2002, Jillian self-published a book of humorous essays for stay-at-home moms; she also published a monthly E-zine and offered a tele-course and accompanying E-book entitled Six Steps to Sanity for the same audience.

 

Convinced by this time that she was an essayist who could never write a novel (her exact words), she changed her mind after reading (and hating) The Little White Horse and believing she could, perhaps, do better. In 2008, she launched Miss Snark’s First Victim, a blog for aspiring authors, under the moniker Authoress. To date, contests on the blog have resulted in more than sixty author success stories, including Beth Revis (Across the Universe, Give the Dark My Love), Sarah Ahiers (Assassin’s Heart, Thief’s Cunning), and Angela Ackerman (The Emotion Thesaurus et al.).

 

In 2013, Jillian’s short story Beginning was published in the anthology When the Hero Comes Home 2 from Dragon Moon Press. While it was certainly fun dabbling in the world of adult science fiction, Jillian’s first love is young adult fantasy and science fiction. She was thrilled to sell her debut YA fantasy novel to Tor Teen in 2017.

 

When she’s not writing, Jillian is homeschooling her remaining youngster-at-home (four have graduated), reading (if it’s not fantasy, it’s Jane Austen), or scrapbooking her family’s nigh uncountable photo collection. Since 2015, she has sung soprano with the Nashville Symphony Chorus, with which she enjoys the privilege of performing at Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center. 

She’s been married to Eric, the love of her life, for more than thirty years and is happy to be surrounded by family and friends amid the rolling knolls of Middle Tennessee.

About Stormrise

 

A combat warrior will risk everything to awaken the dragons and save her kingdom in Jillian Boehme's epic YA Fantasy debut, Stormrise, inspired by Twelfth Night and perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce.

If Rain weren’t a girl, she would be respected as a Neshu combat master. Instead, her gender dooms her to a colorless future. When an army of nomads invades her kingdom, and a draft forces every household to send one man to fight, Rain takes her chance to seize the life she wants.

Knowing she’ll be killed if she’s discovered, Rain purchases powder made from dragon magic that enables her to disguise herself as a boy. Then she hurries to the war camps, where she excels in her training―and wrestles with the voice that has taken shape inside her head. The voice of a dragon she never truly believed existed.

As war looms and Rain is enlisted into an elite, secret unit tasked with rescuing the High King, she begins to realize this dragon tincture may hold the key to her kingdom’s victory. For the dragons that once guarded her land have slumbered for centuries . . . and someone must awaken them to fight once more.

© Jillian Boehme 2019